Piping

 

IMG_0468

I always think that pipingย is a simple and effective way to finish off lots of things. It is especially nice on cushions (above). It is actually a very easy technique to do (I think its easier than binding!).

So, what do you need? Well, piping itself firstly, which is kind of like rope, and it comes in lots of different thicknesses, you just have to decide which is most appropriate for your project. You will also need binding in the colour/ pattern you want. Optional but to make it a lot easier is a zipper foot (most machines come with a zipper foot as standard):

L-R: zipper foot, binding & piping, binding, piping.

Next you will need to encase your piping in the binding. This is very simple, you open out your binding and place the piping inside down the centre:

You then fold the binding over so the piping is encased in the centre of the binding and I like to pin it so it stays in place (and it slows me down as I have a bit of a lead foot haha):

Attaching your zipper foot (if you have one) or with an ordinary foot if not, sew as close to the piping as you can, I like to use a slightly longer stitch:

Sew until you have reached the required length.

You now have piping! Next is to attach it to your project, in this case I was attaching I to a cushion cover. Once I had appliqued the front, prior to sewing on the back, I needed to attach the piping. This needs to be attached to the RIGHT side of the fabric, around the edge with the actual piping itself at the seam allowance, facing INWARDS, pin in place: IMG_0422IMG_0421IMG_0420IMG_0419

I find the easiest way to turn the corners, rather than abuting them is to snip the binding (careful not to snip the stitching and piping) at a 45 degree angle at the corner: IMG_0418

Not a neat example haha – but you get the idea.

Next you need to sew this, once again as close to the actual piping as you can, using a zipper foot if you have one:

Once this is done, it is time to attach the back. You lay the fabric right side to right side as you would do normally. You pin once again as close to the actual piping as possible

ย (hence why you place the actual piping along the seam allowance – in this case 15mm/5/8 in). and sew as close to the piping once again:

Depending on the seam finish and if it is needed I then trim the excess binding/ fabric away so I hopefully get a nice crisp, clear finish once the project is turned right side out ๐Ÿ™‚ This is the finished project: IMG_0468

And here are some other uses I have found for piping since I learnt how to do it and I think you’ll agree in the right context it adds an nice finish and it is easy to do:

Collars, dress edging and more cushions ๐Ÿ™‚ I do love piping and it is quick and easy – hope you have fun experimenting with it ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Piping

Leave a Reply

