Fun & Family

 

I’ve lots to blog about, but have been too busy to come on and write about it haha.

My family have come down for a impromptu visit over the weekend. But first, to the sewing!

They didn’t arrive until Saturday evening, the weather was pretty overcast, and we had chores to do, so we spent Saturday in the house. On Friday evening I had spent the night cutting and planning what I was going to sew so I was ready to go whenever I got chance, which happened on Saturday. I decided to start sewing with the free Mccalls pattern from Love Sewing magazine: IMG_0576

I enjoyed this pattern and found it the right level of challenging. I will do a pattern review in another post, but I’m pleased with how it turned out:

Whilst I was sewing this, the hubby took the 4 kiddies out to the fun fair (a yearly rip-off that comes to our little town). Even no 3 wanted to go and had a whale of a time – which we didn’t think he would as he gets stressed in noisy/ busy places due to his sensory processing disorder. I am so pleased he was able to go though:

As you can see, lots of smiles ๐Ÿ™‚

My sister is a professional performer with Aida cruise ships. She trained in London at the URDANG in musical theatre. She spends most of the year on board, travelling the world and singing, with her boyfriend of 2 years, a lovely man from the Ukraine, called Sascha. As a result of this I’m lucky if I get to see her yearly, so whenever we get the opportunity we try to get together and the children love seeing their glamourous Aunt. She drove herself and my parents down from where they live near Manchester for a flying visit over the weekend. They arrived on Saturday evening bearing fish and chips – always a winner in our house!

I did my sister, the girly and the youngest a accent nail each out of Jamberry nail wraps on their big toes:IMG_0709

This went down a treat, as did the slippers she brought us from Amsterdam: IMG_0718

Clogs! A pair each – and they are soooo comfy!

I think I have also found a new craft after my current Friday classes: paper cutting. They leant me a cutting board and knife to practise with and I am finding I am really enjoying it – it is so relaxing as it doesn’t require any thinking, so I have ordered a knife handle, some blades, a book of templates and a cutting mat off amazon so I can keep it up. Here is my latest effort: IMG_0740

Oh, and on Saturday morning the 2 youngest decided to have a play with some food colouring.. luckily they decided to play it in the bath so it was mainly them affected!

Everyone since has been randomly finding themselves with blue food colouring on them!

On Sunday we decided that as it was such a beautiful day we would take my parents and sister to one of our favourite beaches further down into Cornwall – Perranporth. We had a great day if got a little sunburnt!

We all had a great time. My sister and I actually managed to get our picture taken together, which is very very rare! This picture perfectly sums up the differences between us, our mother said in her facebook post, my two lovely daughters in a perfect picture of them both, Anna looking glamorous in her wetsuit, Kate looking like a Cornish farmers wife! I was wearing my memademay purl bee free tutorial dress ๐Ÿ™‚ which I love for the beach and am planning on making more, and my wellies as I hate sand haha: IMG_0825

Another Kate make on the beach was worn by the girly, some Jo Cole simple flares in capri length out of Rose and Hubble fabric, with rick rack around the bottom which I love ๐Ÿ™‚ I think they look really retro ๐Ÿ™‚ IMG_1004

I did suffer the stupidity of not putting sun cream on: IMG_1035

You’d think at my age I would of learnt by now!

The parents and sister left today – which is always a bit sad, but the parents are coming down for half term in a couple of weeks as the hubby is going away with work.

Of course I’m very excited for the great British sewing bee beginning again tonight – but I’m gutted that for a few days at least I won’t be able to ‘sew along’, as I had to post my machine’s foot pedal off this morning to sewing machines direct. It has been randomly cutting out and slowing down for the last few weeks, and it is only 3 months old so we are trying a new foot pedal, but I needed to send mine in first ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m really hoping it is just the foot pedal as this means I can’t sew for a few days, if my machine had to go in then who knows how longs I’d be unable to sew for?!?!?! IMG_1042

Maybe I am being a tad dramatic haha, worse things happen at sea as they say! And at least it gives me chance to catch up with this and have a turn with my other crafts ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope we all enjoy the great British sewing bee tonight ๐Ÿ™‚ sooooo excited ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

