Life over the last week…

 

Firstly, I haven’t been particularly industrious this week, especially on the sewing front. This is due to a number of factors but mainly because we’ve all been struck down by this horrid cough and cold that seems to be doing the rounds, so each child has had at least one day off this week. IMG_1165

No 3 has been the worst affected due to his asthma so hubby and I have been up several nights with him.

Due to some of the kiddiwinks being off school I was unable to go to my paper cutting class on Friday. I have been practising at home however!

One of the things I enjoy about paper cutting is that you work at cutting out from the smallest piece to the biggest piece. This means it requires you to be ‘in the moment’ and concentrating on figuring out the right order. This makes it a great mindfulness activity and I would recommend anyone who suffers from anxiety to give it a try! You also can see each picture getting more clear as you go on. EZFZ1909

I stuck some of the smaller pieces onto card – glueing them onto coloured paper first – that didn’t go to well – I don’t think glueing is my forte haha. IMG_1065

I am so enjoying paper cutting and am finding it such a good mindfulness activity that I have bought some equipment, not a massive investment as its quite a cheap hobby!

The eldest wanted to try papercutting also, so I allowed him under constant supervision, with my heart in my throat – but sometimes children need to experience threat to know how to handle it. He is 10 years also, I wouldn’t allow any of the others to do it, but he’s old enough to learn from it.

He seemed to enjoy it.

I also updated my Jamicure – and got some more free samples as I’m hoping to become a consultant at some point in the next few weeks for Jamberry.

I have also been beavering away making knitted squares for creative space cornwall’s (who I go to knit and natter and the craft classes with) yarn bombing project (of a tree) in July.

I framed the picture that number 3 drew me – I’m hoping to persuade the other 3 to draw me one each in their own style, which I’ll also frame.

And finally I have done a bit of sewing this week. I covered two of the projects  in How I did … blog posts already. The third, the kimono did not go well…. I will detail why in the blog post about it, but it was entirely my fault, and not because it was too hard either!

Heres to hoping we and you all feel much better next week 🙂

2 thoughts on “Life over the last week…

    1. Thabkyou – were all on the mend 🙂 Papercutting is not too bad with a sharp blade – they do panic about me & my dyspraxia in these classes haha – I’m still in full possession of all my digits thus far haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

