Bunting and bags…part two

I do love bunting! Girly, patriotic, vintage, any type catches my eye! It was one of the things I desperately wanted to sew prior to learning, so it was one of the first things I sewed! IMG_1873

This particular bunting was the first ever bunting I sewed and the 3rd thing I ever sewed – it is farm fabric out of fat quarters which I got from hobby craft and I still have it hung in my kitchen 🙂

I was asked by my friends mother in law if I would sew her some nautical themed bunting to be hung above the bar in her boat themed private bar. I also wanted to sew some bunting for the Jamberry coffee afternoon I’m putting on next week.

There are many, many ways to make bunting, none are wrong, all are right, its just however you want to make it.

For my Jamberry bunting I just wanted to quickly sew it up, for the nautical bunting I obviously wanted to produce a more substantial bunting.

Firstly I needed to cut out the triangles. I decided to try the pre-printed bunting triangles from Rose and Hubble fabrics

I will definitely use these again, so much easier than how I had to do the Jamberry triangles

Next was the lettering, I do this by measuring the width and height I need for the letters (make sure and measure the width at the most slim part of the triangle where you want the letters to go)

I draw squares on  felt or fabric I’m using with these measurements and then draw the letters in to fit within these dimensions

Hands up if you spotted the (non) deliberate mistake? yep, I wrote the letters the right way round, they should of been the wrong way round! I still do that almost every time by the way haha IMG_2596

Cut one out the wrong way around before I realised my mistake!

I cut the rest out correctly. IMG_2597

Next is to pin the letters onto the triangles to ensure they fit.

Prior to appliqueing the letters on you need to ensure they are approximately all in the same place on the triangles. I do this by measuring up from the bottom point of the triangle and put the bottom of the letters the same distance up on each one.

I personally like a large zig zag for applique

10 is my zig zag stitch, the 4.0/6.0 is stitch width, 2.0/3.0 stitch length.

Next is to carefully applique around the letters

I did make a good mistake on the first R I did, of stitching the front to the corner haha

This is where the nautical bunting differs from the Jamberry bunting. I made the nautical bunting double sided.

I pinned another triangle onto each flag, right sides together.

Then sewed them together, leaving a gap on one side so as to turn the flag right side out.

So as to attempt to get crisper sides and points when turned right way, I then trim the seams. I leave the gap with more fabric though to make it easier when sewing it shut 🙂 IMG_2636

I then turned it right way out,

I then topstitched around both to close the gap and to give the flags a crisper view

I went to my local haberdashery place bought some nautical ribbon. I love this ribbon, it is gorgeous. I was going to make a channel for the ribbon to go through the flags, but this ribbon is so cute that I decided to sew it to the actual flags.

I sewed it both at the top and the bottom of the ribbon so as to make sure it was secure.

For the Jamberry bunting as this doesn’t matter so much the finish I decided to use my pinking shears to cut around the edges to prevent them fraying instead

 and then put to ribbon on in the same way as the nautical bunting as it was a quicker way than making a channel, even though I’d done it for aesthetics on the nautical bunting.

Finished!

and some other bunting I have made over the last 21 months, in all different ways. As I said, there is no right way to make bunting, just do what you feel like! and they all look great and are easy to do so give bunting a bash!

Leave a Reply

